SA Loyalty Awards winners for 2022 honoured for the excellence

By our News Team | 2022

Shoprite Group wins the best retail programme for its Xtra Savings initiative and also industry personality of the year.

The 2022 South African Loyalty Awards, designed to celebrate excellence and innovation in loyalty programmes, announced its 2022 winners in Cape Town last week.

The awards are now in their fourth year after being initiated by Truth, a leading loyalty and  CRM consultancy that operates both locally and internationally.

Loyalty Programmes

Photo credit: Supplied

Headlining the awards is the ‘best programme of the year’ category, which traditionally recognises the leaders across four major industry sectors – retail, financial services, restaurant/QSR and ‘other’. For the first time, an award recognising the best long-term loyalty programme was introduced. This is for programmes which have been in the market for more than three years.

There winners are:

Best Loyalty Programme of the Year: Retail – The Shoprite Group Xtra Savings

Best Loyalty Programme of the Year: Financial Services – Capitec Live Better 

Best Loyalty Programme of the Year: Restaurant/QSR – Spur Family Card

Best Loyalty Programme of the Year: ‘Other’ – MySchool MyVillage MyPlanet

Best Long-Term Loyalty Programme: FNB eBucks

MySchool MyVillage MyPlanet is the only loyalty brand to win its category for the fourth year running.  Omnisient won Best Loyalty Data Agency / Vendor of the Year.

The judges also recognised Neil Schreuder from The Shoprite Group by naming him as Loyalty Personality of the Year – 2022. He was honoured for his leadership within The Shoprite Group for the concept, design, launch and growth of the highly successful Xtra Savings programme.

“The 2022 South African Loyalty Awards highlighted once again that the South African loyalty industry is thriving [and delivering] world-class innovation and excellence, competing on the same, if not higher, playing field as our global peers,” said Amanda Cromhout, Judging Chair of the awards and CEO/Founder of Truth loyalty consultancy.

Dates for the 2023 awards have already been set. Entries open on 3 February 2023 and close on 30 June 2023. Winners will be announced in October 2023.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop

    Dr Kin Kariisa

    Group CEO - Next Media

    Dr. Kin Kariisa is an extraordinary force at the helm of Next Media Services, a conglomerate encompassing NBS TV, Nile Post, Sanyuka TV, Next Radio, Salam TV, Next Communication, Next Productions, and an array of other influential enterprises. His dynamic role as Chief Executive Officer exemplifies his unwavering commitment to shaping media, business, and community landscapes.
    With an esteemed academic journey, Dr. Kariisa’s accolades include an Honorary PhD in exemplary community service from the United Graduate College inTexas, an MBA from United States International University in Nairobi, Kenya, a Master’s degree in Computer Engineering from Huazong University in China, and a Bachelor’s degree in Statistics from Makerere University.
    Dr. Kariisa pursued PhD research in Computer Security and Identity Management at Security of Systems Group, Radboud University in Nijmegen, Netherlands. As a dynamic educator, he has shared his expertise as a lecturer of e-Government and Information Security at both Makerere University and Radboud University.

    Dr Kin did his PhD research in Computer Security and Identity Management at Security of Systems Group, Radbond University in Nigmegen, Netherlands. He previously served as a lecturer of e-Government and Information Security at Makerere University in Kampala, Uganda and Radbond University in Netherlands.

    Dr Kin did his postgraduate courses in Strategic Business Management, Strategic Leadership Communication and Strategies for Leading Successful Change Initiatives at Harvard University, Boston USA.

    • Other current and previous roles played by Dr Kin Kariisa:
    • Lecturer of e-Government and Information Security to graduate students at Makerere University, Kampala and Radbond University in the Netherlands
    • Director of Eco Bank Uganda Limited, one of the largest banks in Africa
    • Chairman of the National Association of Broadcasters, an umbrella industry association for all Television, Radio and online broadcasters in Uganda.
    • Chairman of Board of Directors of Nile Hotel International, that owns the leading hotel in Uganda, Kampala Serena Hotel.
    • Chairman of Board of Directors of Soliton Telmec Uganda, the leading telecom company in Optic fibre business managing over 80% of optic fibre in Uganda.